Eid without my grandfather

I thought this year’s Eid will be great but instead it went the other way around. At first, I thought my grandfather (on my mother’s side) is coming back to Terengganu. He is in Kuala Lumpur because he had an appoinment with his doctor. Two days before Eid my mother got a call from my aunt saying that my grandparents (on my mother’s side) is not coming back to Terengganu for Eid. By that time I was already at Kuala Terengganu.

Another reason that made me sad was my favourite granduncle (Tok Teh Zaki) had just passed away last December (2007) a few days before the Monsoon Cuppa (the launching of a book entitled Growing Up in Trengganu by Awang Goneng at my grandmother’s shop Alam Akademik. He is special to me because he always calls me princess. He was like my own paternal grandfather because my father’s father had passed away before I was born – and he is my paternal grandfather only brother.

My father's father's only brother (Allahyarham Zaki Ismail)

My mother’s father is my favourite person because as long as I can remember if my parents are not around, he will be the person who takes care of me. Now, I am worried as my grandfather had been waded for 3 months. Before this he had been waded once on 2006 but it wasn’t as bad. Now my goal is to make my grandfather happy and proud of me. I want to spend most of the time with my grandfather.

My grandfather carrying me when I was less than a year old

Eid this year really dosen’t feels like Eid even though I’ve been to almost all of my relatives’ house.

2 thoughts on “Eid without my grandfather

Feedbacks?

